I love my siblings a lot. I consider them my best friends. They have known me all my live, they have seen the worst of me and still love me. They understand where I come from so they understand the core of me. Lately I have been thinking about my siblings, as I write my maid of honor toast for my sister’s wedding, and as I realize, I am more excited  about seeing my brother on vacation than actually going to the beach. So when I read this New York Times Article “The Gift of Siblings by Frank Bruni the other day I smiled, happy that others feel about their siblings as I do.

I agree that as we get old and are no longer living under the same roof we need to make more of an effort to stay close, maintain that relationship. So go hug your brothers and sisters or give them a call if distance makes a hug impossible.

~Rachel

