photo: Lee Edwin Coursey http://www.flickr.com/photos/leeco/

The blooming of daffodils means that spring is on its way. As a lover of warmer weather and summer this is good news. Although the last few days have felt like winter.

Daffodils are my favorite flower for several reason, but the main one is their smell. It is the perfect combination of fresh, sweet, nature, sun, and happiness. Growing up we had a flowerbed at the far side of the house that had tons of daffodils. Since the bed was where no one could see it my mom would let me cut as many daffodils as I wanted. I would cut arm full’s of flowers, and put them in vases all over the house. My room always got several vases full. So for a few weeks our house would have the wonderful smell of daffodils. Now if you’ll excuse me. I’m off to find some daffodils for my room.

~Rachel

